Mara Autonomous District Council (MADC) is one of the three Autonomous District Councils within Mizoram state of Union India. Primarily, an autonomous administrative government meant for the Mara people living in the state.

It is situated in the southern tip of Mizoram state bordering Myanmar. Its autonomy was established under Articles 244(2) and 275(1) of Sixth Scheduled to the Constitution of India and carved out from the erstwhile Pawi-Lakher Regional Council on 29 May 1971 and separated the next year as Lakher Autonomous District Council, and renamed it to current name in 1988. It covers 1445 square kilometres.

The government has jurisdiction over land administration, administration of justice, and limited legislative powers, and a few other local powers. 

The latest election of MADC had been held in May 2022. Out of total 25 seats, an Indian National Congress (INC) wins 4 Seats, Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) wins 12 seats and Mizo National Front (MNF) wins 9 seats in which no single political party has an absolute majority of legislator. A new government by Joint Legislature of Indian National Congress (INC) and Mizo National Front (MNF) was formed thereafter and the Chief Executive Member (CEM) was Shri H. Malvina from 02-Phura Constituency. The Chairman was Shri N. Viakhu, a veteran politician from 21-Siaha South-II Constituency.

The opposition moved no-confidence motion against the government on 25.11.2023, the third and last day of the ongoing winter session 2022 of the MADC. Later, a new government is formed by 12 members of BJP MDCs with support of 3 members from MNF MDCs.

Shri M. Laikaw from 01-Pala Constituency sworn-in as new Chief Executive Member on 22.12.2023. The Chairman is Shri N. Viakhu from 21-Siaha South-II Constituency.


1. A Brief History of Maraland

2. Profile of Mara Autonomous District Council

3. List of 12th Term MDCs

4. List of Member of Executive Committee - 12th Term

5. MADC Area Census